27Jai Ram Thakur



Jai Ram Thakur (born 6 January 1965) is an Indian politician, who is the 14th and the current Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh. He was elected BJP legislative party leader on 24 December 2017 after the defeat of Chief Ministerial candidate of BJPPrem Kumar Dhumal in the assembly elections held in November 2017. He has been an MLA in Himachal Pradesh Assembly since 1998 and previously served as Cabinet Minister in BJP Government of Himachal Pradesh. He was Minister of Rural Development and Panchayati Raj from 2009-2012. He is elected to Himachal Pradesh Assembly from Seraj in Mandi. He won his first election in the year of 1998 from now delimited constituency of Chachiot (Seraj).

Early life and education

Born to a poor Rajput farming family in Tandi village of Mandi's Thunag area, Thakur was fourth among five siblings — two sisters and three brothers. His father's name was Jethu Ram and mother's name is Briku Devi. Thakur did his primary education from Kurani School and studied in Government Senior Secondary school Bagsiad and later completed his B.A. from Vallabh Govt. College in Mandi. He did M.A. from Panjab University in Chandigarh.


S/o|D/o|W/o: Late Sh. Jethu Ram
Age: 52
Address: Village Tandi, Post Office Thunag, Teh. Thunag, Dist. Mandi, H.P.

Details of Criminal Cases

No criminal cases


Login to post your comment.

Share page On: